This Moment

This Moment: GATE

On Friday night, I’m going to the GATE project Opening Reception. One of the artists creates an installation out of objects given to her in exchange for drawings. I love interactive exhibitions, and will participate, of course. I had to think long and hard about my object because I have to give it up in exchange for the hard drawing, and in order for the installation to be successful, it should be an object that is of value to me.


One of my favorite places is Paris. Yes, Paris does have a certain je ne sais quoi for most of us, but it is a place that means that much more to me. I visited Paris in the summer of 2009 with my best friend Meri. It was a trip that helped us redefine ourselves as women, friends, sisters, daughters, and professionals. We both experienced everyday epiphanies in the “City of Light” and came home even better versions of ourselves.  It is a trip that we will both cherish throughout our lives.   In the summer of 2010, I received a figurine of the Eiffel Tower from BF.  He knows how much I appreciate the time I spent in Paris and gave me the figurine so I would remember it always.  It was the first gift he bought me and one of my favorites.


After learning about the installation, I could think of only one object that means so much to me, that I am willing to reincarnate – my Paris figurine.  It represents a new life that is about  evolving.  I’ve been redefining myself for 2 years, exploring and experiencing.  I think it would only be fair, if my figurine did the same – redefine itself as an artwork in progress.
Standard

Leave a Reply

