Wedding

Honeymooning


My favorite thing leading up to the wedding has been planning out our honeymoon itinerary.  BF and I knew we wanted to venture somewhere where we could mingle in quaint neighborhoods with locals, soak in the culture, and eat some really good food.  We ventured through Eastern Europe last summer for several weeks and we loved it.  So we thought about heading south and visiting Italy – well, this idea only lasted about 15 minutes.  The BF, trained as an architect and now a practicing Urban Designer, wants to spend at least 2-3 weeks in Rome soaking in the architecture. I had to talk him back to reality and assure him that I will send him on his own trip to Rome for the full architecture tour. I equated the 3 week architecture tour to me spending 3 weeks window shopping on Champs Elysees – that did the trick!  It also opened up the discussion to another destination – France! I visited Paris with my best friend several years ago and I fell in love with the city of lights as most people do so I was on board with BFs idea to frolicking in a few French cities.  We’re thinking of starting out in Paris, which includes several Le Corbusier stops  (think Coco Chanel of modern architecture – sigh) and then heading south to Provence for wine tasting, decadent meals, and long walks in fields of lavender.  We’ll finish out our trip in Cassis (pictured above), which is a beautiful beach town in Provence. Exciting right?

What do you think of our itinerary so far? Do you have any recommendations? Where did you and your love travel for your honeymoon? Where is your dream destination? 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Honeymooning

  1. Difficult question. Very difficult question. Rome and Paris are tough nuts to crack. Both are outstanding, not simple because of their architecture, but historic flower bouquets and present importance.Talking of Italy – I prefer Venice over Rome. It is simply quieter and I love to get lost in those tiny streets, ending up at a dead end.Talking of France, I prefer Bretagne. Nature, stunning cliffs, stars as much as your eyes are able to catch.Talking of Germany, I prefer the south, like Munich or Heidelberg or Stuttgart. I am from the very West, a part where up to 90% were totally destroyed during WWII, leaving nothing behind, as it was in the South.Talking of Japan, I love Hide-Takayama. Experiencing the charm of the "real old Kyoto", hot springs, wearing Yukata and enjoying the full care of Japanese hospitality.Tough Choice…Toug Choice..Xx from Tokyo, Nana from na-ta-ri

  2. Sounds like a fantastic trip! I lived in Aix-en-Provence for a year, and the region is breathtaking. Make sure you visit it! And yes, Cassis is a lovely town on the Med 🙂 So jealous: I want to do it all over again now!

  3. This just sounds amazing. I'm so envious of you! =D Actually, I hope the husband and I get to go on our honeymoon soon. We've been married a year and a half now but haven't had time to go!! I know it's important to go so we will soon but I'm always excited for others when I hear their plans!xo,nancy

  4. Oh wow, that beach looks gorgeous! Your honeymoon sounds way more exotic than mine! I bet anywhere in Europe would be amazing. The food would definitely lead me though. I love different foods and soaking in the culture at fun little cafes and restaurants. :)toni

Leave a Reply

